Graduate Medical Education Committee

The USA Graduate Medical Education Committee (GMEC) oversees all graduate medical education training programs in the University of South Alabama Health System. The GMEC is chaired by the Assistant Dean for Graduate Medical Education and Designated Institutional Official (DIO) and the alternate DIO serves as the vice-chair of the committee. The Program Directors and Associate Program Directors of the GME training programs, representative core faculty, USA Health System staff, and peer-selected residents and fellows serve on the Committee. The GMEC meets on the first Tuesday of each month, except for the month of July.

Committee Members

  • Samuel McQuiston, MD, (Chair) Assistant Dean for Graduate Medical Education, DIO and Program Director, Radiology Residency
  • Franklin Trimm, MD, (Vice-Chair) Program Director, Pediatric Residency and Alternate DIO
  • Haley Ballard, MD, Associate Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency
  • Judy Blair-Elortegui, MD, Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency
  • Sidney Brevard, MD, Program Director, Surgical Critical Care Fellowship
  • Ashleigh Butts-Wilkerson, MD, Associate Program Director, Family Medicine Residency
  • David Clarkson, MD, Professor, Medical Oncology Fellowship
  • Abhijin Das, MBBS, Assistant Professor, Internal Medicine Residency
  • Linda Ding, MD, Associate Program Director, Surgical Critical Care Fellowship
  • Jack DiPalma, MD, Program Director, Gastroenterology Fellowship
  • Luke Engeriser, MD, Program Director, Psychiatry Residency
  • Sharon Ezell, MSN, RN, CPHQ, Director, Quality Management USAMC
  • Eddie Finn, MD, Program Director, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowship
  • Brian Fouty, MD, Program Director, Pulmonary Disease and Critical Care Fellowship
  • Sophia Goslings, MD, Associate Program Director, Pediatric Residency
  • Warren Greene, Assistant to Hospital Administrator, USAMC
  • Joshua Hackle, MD, Program Director, Family Medicine, Sports Medicine Fellowship
  • Grace Hundley, MD, Program Director, Medicine and Pediatric Residency
  • T.J. Hundley, MD, Associate Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency
  • Chris Jett, MSHA, MBA, Hospital Administrator, USACW 
  • Andrea Kahn, MD, Program Director, Pathology Residency
  • Letch Kline, MD, Associate Chief of Staff for Education, Gulf Coast Veterans Health Care System, Biloxi, MS
  • Amy McRae, BSN, MHA, JD, Director, Quality Management/Education USACW
  • Ehab Molokhia, MD, Program Director, Family Medicine Residency
  • Juan Ochoa, MD, Program Director, Neurology Residency and Clinical Neurophysiology Fellowship
  • Bassam Omar, MD, Program Director, Cardiovascular Disease Fellowship
  • Edward Panacek, MD, Department Chair, Emergency Medicine
  • Paul Rider, MD, Associate Program Director, Surgery Residency
  • Craig Sherman, MD, Program Director, Obstetrics & Gynecology Residency
  • Jon Simmons, MD, Program Director, Surgery Residency

Resident Members

  • Johnny Harris, MD, PGY IV, Medicine and Pediatric Residency
  • Julie Jeansonne, MD, PGY IV, Obstetrics & Gynecology Residency
  • Cody Smith, MD, PL-3, Radiology Residency
  • Patrick Smith, MD, PGY V, Orthopaedic Surgery Residency
  • Harrison Trammell, MD, PGY II, Internal Medicine Residency

Affiliated Staff Members

  • Clista Clanton, MLS, USA Biomdical Library
  • Sharrie Cranford, LMSW, MS, Director, CME
  • Brigett Davis, Housestaff Residency Specialist 
  • Joyce Guest, PhD, GME Education Specialist
  • Tomeika Hawkins, GME Accreditation Specialist
  • Beth Leffard, MSN, RN, CPHQ, Assistant Director, Quality Management, USAMC
  • Regina Stanley, GME Accreditation Assistant


Break Line.png

USA with Apron.jpgUniversity of South Alabama Health System
Graduate Medical Education

2451 USA Medical Center Drive, Mastin 212, Mobile, AL 36617  
Phone 251.471.7206  •  Fax 251.471.7875

Email Newsletters

Connect With Us