Print This Page Print This PageEmail to a Friend Email This Page
May 15, 2018 - MASA Honors USA College of Medicine Alumni

Irvin-Furr.jpgThe Medical Association of the State of Alabama (MASA) recently recognized Dr. Ralph Lee Irvin Jr., and Dr. Steven P. Furr at the association’s annual meeting.

Dr. Ralph Lee Irvin Jr. is the 2018 recipient of the Samuel Buford Word Award, the highest honor given by the Medical Association of the State of Alabama. It is presented in recognition of service to humanity beyond the usual scope of medical practice.

Dr. Irvin, a board certified physician in anesthesiology and pain medicine, has been in private practice in Mobile since 1983. When the Medical Society of Mobile County began receiving hundreds of calls from patients who were left in need after the closing of a pain clinic, Dr. Irvin was willing to be placed at the top of the list as a resource. As one of the physicians in the area who could care for patients with pain pumps, he did not shy away from what became more than an ordinary challenge.

Over the course of a year and a half, he not only cared for his own patients but also the influx of several hundred more patients with pain pumps, while also working closely with the investigators with the Alabama Board of Medical Examiners to ensure the safety and health of the patients.

Dr. Irvin received his medical degree from the University of South Alabama College of Medicine in 1980. He completed his residency in anesthesiology with the Medical University of South Carolina and served as chief resident.

He is a member of the Medical Society of Mobile County, Medical Association of the State of Alabama, North American Neuromodulation Society, the American Society of Interventional Pain Physicians, and the Society of Pain Practice Management. He is also a diplomat with the American Board of Anesthesiology.

Dr. Steven P. Furr is the 2018 recipient of the Paul W. Burleson Award, presented to a physician in recognition of a medical career that encompasses high ethical and professional standards in patient care, as well as extraordinary service to physician organizations at the county, state and national levels.

A family medicine physician based in Jackson, Ala., Dr. Furr earned his medical degree from the University of South Alabama College of Medicine in 1981. He completed his residency training at the University of Alabama in Huntsville as part of the family practice program.

Dr. Furr was appointed to the University of South Alabama Board of Trustees in 2006 and has served as chair pro tempore. He served as founding chair of the USA Children's & Women's Hospital Development Council and on the USA 50th Anniversary Annual Fund Alumni Leadership Council. He was honored by the USA National Alumni Association in 2014 with a Distinguished Alumni Award. That same year, he spearheaded the creation of the USA Board of Trustees Endowed Scholarship Fund, which provides a scholarship to each incoming freshman class’s top academic performer.

A member of the Alabama Healthcare Hall of Fame, Dr. Furr has served on numerous hospital committees and as president of the Clarke County Medical Society. Additionally, he has served on the board of directors of the Alabama State Committee of Public Health and the Alabama State Board of Medical Examiners. He is the current president of the Alabama Medical Directors Association as well as a Certified Medical Director.

A past chairman of the board and president of the Alabama Academy of Family Physicians, Dr. Furr was the first USA College of Medicine graduate to serve as president of the Medical Association of the State of Alabama. He continues to serve as a delegate to the American Academy of Family Physicians Congress of Delegates as well as the American Medical Association House of Delegates.

Dr. Furr is an accomplished presenter, often lecturing on issues such as medical technology, licensure, ethics, leadership and pain management.

Email Newsletters

Connect With Us