Print This Page Print This PageEmail to a Friend Email This Page
Jan. 18, 2017 - Students, Residents and Faculty Named to USA Chapter of Gold Humanism Honor Society

2017GHHS.jpgTen medical students, three residents and one faculty member recently were named to the University of South Alabama Chapter of the Arnold P. Gold Humanism in Medicine Honor Society (GHHS).

The USA College of Medicine Class of 2018 selects individuals who have demonstrated leadership, excellence in clinical care, compassion and dedication.

Each member of the Class of 2018 completes a ballot with statements such as "the classmates who have shown exceptional interest in service to those in need in our community" and "the classmates you would like to have work at your side during a medical emergency or unforeseen disaster," among others. Each student is asked to name two students from their class who would best fit the situations described.

Recently, the following USA students, residents and faculty were selected:

Alan Akira - student
Sarah K. Cassity - student
Winston M. Crute - student
Darren S. Ferree - student
Katherine E. Glosemeyer - student
Lauren E. Nelson - student
Adam M. Powell - student
Ashton W. Todd - student
Mary Morgan Weed - student
Charles Alexander Wiles - student
Dr. Lee Grimm - faculty, department of surgery
Dr. Mary Caitlin Marshall - resident, department of internal medicine
Dr. Justin Sobrino - resident, department of surgery
Dr. John D. Byrd – resident, department of internal medicine

This year's class officers are Charles Alexander Wiles, president; Sarah Cassity, treasurer/secretary; and Mary Morgan Weed, social coordinator.

New inductees will be recognized at the USA College of Medicine’s annual White Coat Ceremony on June 17, 2017, at 10 a.m. at the USA Mitchell Center.

Click here to learn more about GHHS.

Email Newsletters

Connect With Us