Print This Page Print This PageEmail to a Friend Email This Page
Jan. 20, 2016 - Students, Residents and Faculty Named to USA Chapter of Arnold P. Gold Humanism Honor Society

2016-01-19+Gold+Humanism+Honor+Society+MK1.jpgFront row, from left: Dr. Brian Jones, Dr. Michael Polcari and Dr. Roy Michael Culpepper. Second row, from left: Corwin McGee and Jelaina Scott. Third row, from left: Brian McGrath, Emily Spurlin and Meagan Thomas. Back row, from left: Jacob Sexton, Carter Tisdale and Kiyoshi Scissum. Not pictured: Peter Soh, R. Grant Willis and Dr. Geami Britt.

Ten medical students, three residents and one faculty member recently were named to the University of South Alabama Chapter of the Arnold P. Gold Humanism in Medicine Honor Society.

The USA College of Medicine Class of 2017 selects individuals who have demonstrated leadership, excellence in clinical care, compassion and dedication.

This year, each member of the Class of 2017 received at least one nomination from their peers for membership in the Gold Humanism Honor Society. According to Dr. Susan LeDoux, associate dean of medical education and student affairs at USA, this is a first in the history of the College of Medicine. "This class is an outstanding group of future physicians," Dr. LeDoux said. "Their nominations speak to the character of the Class of 2017."

Each member of the Class of 2017 completes a ballot with statements such as "the classmates who have shown exceptional interest in service to those in need in our community" and "the classmates you would like to have work at your side during a medical emergency or unforeseen disaster." Each student is asked to name two students from their class who would best fit the situations described.

Recently, the following USA students, residents and faculty were selected:

Corwin McGee- student
Brian McGrath-student
Kiyoshi Scissum-student
Jelaina Scott-student
Jacob Sexton-student
Peter Soh- student
Emily Spurlin- student
Meagan Thomas- student
Carter Tisdale- student
R. Grant Willis- student
Dr. Roy Michael Culpepper-faculty, department of internal medicine
Dr. Geami Britt-resident, department of obstetrics & gynecology
Dr. Michael Polcari- resident, department of medicine/pediatrics
Dr. Brian Jones-resident, department of surgery

This year's class officers are Corwin McGee, president; R. Grant Willis, treasurer/secretary; and Jelania Scott, social coordinator.

The honorees will be recognized at the annual White Coat Ceremony on June 19, 2016, at 2 p.m. at the USA Mitchell Center.

Click here to learn more about the Gold Humanism Honor Society.

Email Newsletters

Connect With Us