Print This Page Print This PageEmail to a Friend Email This Page
Dec. 16, 2015 - Medical Students Named to Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society

AOA-logo.jpgEarlier this year, 12 senior medical students at the University of South Alabama College of Medicine were named to the USA chapter of the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society.

The following students were selected: Aaron Coleman, William Cutchen, Ryan Dewitz, Brandon Finnorn, Michael Hamer, Michael “Wesley” Honeycutt, Madelyn King, Caitlin Marshall, Patrick O’Brien, Richard Pearlman, Gavin Reed and Katherine Richards.

Alpha Omega Alpha, a professional medical organization, recognizes and advocates for excellence in scholarship and the highest ideals in the profession of medicine. Members have a compelling drive to do well and to advance the medical profession and exemplify the highest standards of professionalism.

According to Dr. Kelly Roveda, assistant professor of pathology at the USA College of Medicine and USA AOA chapter councilor, election and membership in Alpha Omega Alpha signifies commitment to not only scholarship but also leadership, professionalism and service.

“The national organization recognizes leaders in medicine and bestows awards to those with best practices in medical professionalism education as well as those who excel in service learning. Additionally, AOA sponsors poetry and student essay competitions with awards and publications,” Dr. Roveda said. “Membership brings with it a lifelong commitment to excellence throughout the practice of medicine and medical education.”

The top 25 percent of a medical school class is eligible for nomination to the society, and up to 16 percent may be elected based on leadership, character, community service and professionalism.

Members may also be elected by chapters after demonstrating scholarly achievement and professional contributions and values during their careers in medicine.

The AOA motto is “Be Worthy to Serve the Suffering.” To learn more, visit

Email Newsletters

Connect With Us