University of South Alabama

Advising Meeting

Wed., Feb. 11, 2015 at
12 noon

 USA Medical Center 10th Floor EICHOLD ROOM - Lunch provided

RSVP 1 week in advance to Linda Ching 251-471-7891

Internal Medicine

Errol Crook, M.D., Professor and Chair
USAMC Mastin 400-A, 251-471-7900
ecrook@health.southalabama.edu   

Website:  http://www.usahealthsystem.com/internalmedicine

Faculty Advisors to Senior Students:

Dr. Haley Ballard hballard@health.southalabama.edu

Dr. Sabrina Bessette sgbessette@health.southalabama.edu

Dr. Wilburn Bolton wboltoniii@health.southalabama.edu

Dr. Errol Crook  ecrook@health.southalabama.edu

Dr. M. Culpepper mculpepp@health.southalabama.edu

Dr. Jack DiPalma jdipalma@health.southalabama.edu

Dr. T. J. Hundley tjhundley@health.southalabama.edu

Dr. Karen Fagan kfagan@health.southalabama.edu  

Dr. Brian Fouty bfouty@southalabama.edu   
   
Dr. Grace Hundley ohundley@health.southalabama.edu

Dr. Alana Schilthuis alana@health.southalabama.edu

Dr. John Schultz jschultz@health.southalabama.edu

Dr. Rachel Seaman rktraylor@health.southalabama.edu

Informal Description of the Clinical Discipline
Internal Medicine is a broad-based primary care specialty focused on disease prevention and treatment in young and older adults.  The educational focus of the internal medicine training program is designed to allow optimum exposure to the many facets of internal medicine in order to prepare the individual for a position of leadership as a practitioner, consultant, subspecialist or academician.  Educational programs emphasize pathophysiologic principles.  The training program for a general internist is three years with graded responsibility for patient care.  During this period the physician is exposed to primary care and subspecialty disciplines and participates in the clinical activities of cardiologists, gastroenterologists, endocrinologists, etc., as part of the training program.  An internist is expected to become a well-read and well-rounded consultant, participating actively in the care of adults with a variety of medical problems.  The internist may serve as a primary care physician in some situations and as a consultant in others.  Approximately half of the internists finishing the three-year training program become primary care health providers.  Others enter a subspecialty fellowship training program or become hospitalists.

 

Text Only Options

Change the current font size: larger | default | smaller

Current color mode is Black on White, other available modes: Yellow on Black | Black on Cream

Current color mode is Yellow on Black, other available modes: Black on White | Black on Cream

Current color mode is Black on Cream, other available modes: Black on White | Yellow on Black

Open the original version of this page.