Advising Meeting

Wed., Feb. 8, 2017
at 12:00 p.m.

USA MC 10th floor Suite F - Neurology Conference Room - Lunch Provided

RSVP to Vicky at: 251-445-9003 vsisoutham@health.southalabama.edu

Neurology

 Naritoku.png

Dean K. Naritoku, M.D., Professor and Chair
3301 Knollwood Drive, Building #4
251-445-8262

Website: http://www.usahealthsystem.com/neuro

Faculty Advisors to Senior Students

Dr. Naritoku       dnaritoku@health.southalabama.edu

Dr. Dees               ddees@health.southalabama.edu

Dr. Bassam          bbassam@health.southalabama.edu

Dr. Ochoa            jochoa@health.southalabama.edu

Dr. Minto             leminto@health.southalabama.edu

Dr. Cordina         scordina@health.southalabama.edu

Informal Description of the Clinical Discipline

Neurology is the field of medicine involved with the diagnosis and treatment of diseases of the nervous system, i.e., the brain, spinal cord, peripheral nerve and muscle.  Patients with neurological disease present with a wide variety of difficult, challenging and compelling problems.  Practicing this specialty, the physician performs comprehensive and detailed neurological histories and examinations, and performs and interprets a variety of neurodiagnostic studies, including lumbar puncture, computerized tomography, magnetic resonance imaging, angiography, myelography, electroencephalography, and neurosonologic exams.  Careful clinical analysis of patients with nervous system disease allows for localization and characterization of the underlying abnormalities.  Most importantly, treatment of neurological disease has advanced significantly in recent years, and the number and scope of illnesses now amenable to treatment has been increasing at an extraordinarily rapid rate.

Email Newsletters

Connect With Us