Faculty

Mikhail Alexeyev, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
malexeye@southalabama.edu
Research Interests: Mitochondrial DNA Maintenance, Damage, Repair, Degradation and Mutagenesis

Diego F. Alvarez, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
dalvarez@southalabama.edu
Research Interests: Vascular inflammation in pulmonary disease

Stephen T. Ballard, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
sballard@southalabama.edu
Research Interests: Airway Epithelial Transport, Cystic Fibrosis

Michael V. Cohen, M.D.
Professor
mcohen@southalabama.edu
Research Interests: Cardiac Physiology, Collateral Vessels, Ischemic Preconditioning

James M. Downey, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
jdowney@southalabama.edu
Research Interests: Cardiac Physiology, Ischemic Preconditioning

Mike T. Lin, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
mlin@southalabama.edu
Research Interests: Vascular Biology, Neuroscience

Thomas M. Lincoln, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
tlincoln@southalabama.edu
Research Interests: Cyclic GMP, Signal Transduction in Smooth Muscle

James C. Parker, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus 
jparker@southalabama.edu
Research Interests: Pulmonary Physiology, Mechanical Injury to the Lung

Sarah Sayner, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
ssayner@southalabama.edu
Research Interests: The Pulmonary Endothelial Barrier

Mark S. Taylor, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
mtaylor@southalabama.edu
Research Interests: Vascular Biology, Vascular Cell Imaging

Mary I. Townsley, Ph.D.
Professor
Senior Associate Dean
mtownsley@southalabama.edu
Research Interests: Pulmonary Transcapillary Exchange, Acute Lung Injury

David S. Weber, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
dweber@southalabama.edu
Research Interests: Vascular Smooth Muscle Physiology

Xiangming Zha, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
zha@southalabama.edu
Research Interests: pH and Neuron Function

 

Staff Directory

Kelli Roberson
Grants Admin. Specialist I 
kroberson@southalabama.edu

Penny Cook
Department Manager
pcook@southalabama.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty

Gerd Heusch, Prof. Dr. med., Dr. h.c.
Direktor des Institutes für Pathophysiologie
Zentrum für Innere Medizin
Universitätsklinikum Essen
Essen, Germany
gerd.heusch@uni-essen.de

Thomas Krieg, Dr. med.
Clinical Pharmacology Unit
University of Cambridge
Addenbrooke’s Hospital
Cambridge CB2 2QQ, UK
tk382@medschl.cam.ac.uk

Derek Yellon, Ph.D., D.Sc.
Department of Academic & Clinical Cardiology
University College Hospital London, England
d.yellon@ucl.ac.uk

Marilyn P. Merker, Ph.D.
Medical College of Wisconsin
Dept. Veterans Affairs
VAMC Milwaukee, WI
mmerker@mcw.edu

 

Email Newsletters

Connect With Us